Certification &


The AAMA offers a certification examination for medical assistants. This certification is the premier credential of a medical assistant.

  1. To sit for the exam you must have completed all of the requirements and graduated from a medical assisting program that has been accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) or by the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES).
  2. Test information can be found at www.aama-ntl.org. Click on “Become a CMA.”


A certified medical assistant must recertify every five years. This can be accomplished by continuing education or reexamination.

  1. To recertify by examination the CMA must re-take and pass the exam.
  2. To recertify by continuing education, a certified medical assistant must accumulate 60 Recertification points. The points must be in the following categories:
    • General (transdisciplinary) – 10 points
    • Administrative – 10 points
    • Clinical – 10 points
    • Any content area – 30 points
  3. At least 30 points have to be from AAMA CEU programs.
  4. You will be in the "not current" certified status if you do not recertify. If you are not current, you cannot use the CMA credential while working as a medical assistant.

For more information on certification and recertification, please contact the AAMA 1-800-ACT-AAMA or 1-800-228-2262.

Feel free to download the recertification form.